In'scrap'tuation!

~ My scrapbooking creations are the legacy I will leave for my children. ~

Day 2 – and a bit of progress! June 6, 2011

Filed under: 12 x 12 layouts,June 2011 — amberscrappin @ 9:44 pm

          Happy start of the week! I’m happy that I’ve had a few visitors – thank you, sisters and friends! And they had really nice things to say, so a double thanks! Okay, I thought I should show you a few of my layouts. They are mostly experimental, so at least one of the layouts is kinda strange. But that’s how I learn – by doing. I’m not very good at remembering which products I use, but I will definitely be more vigilant in the future so I can be sure to promote the brands that I favour. One thing is for sure: I love Glimmer Mist! It gives everything such a fine sheen, very feminine. I have lots of females in my life, so I get to use it plenty!

          I have gotten into the habit of making ‘blank’ layouts, that is, putting all the pretty stuff on the page but leaving out the pictures! Yikes, I need to be careful not to get addicted to that, because then this hobby is less about documenting life and more about the adornments. So I am trying to add pictures to all of my lonely layouts and will then try to discipline myself.

          Take a look and see what you think of some of my latest ‘creations’.

For this page, I used a Fancy Pants transparency that I had just received from my favourite online SB store! I just added some coloured blocks behind and then a couple of jeweled buttons and Stickles on top. Voila!

I like this page, mostly because I can hardly wait to find a picture of make-the-most-of-life Sydney (my 11-year-old). There will be MANY photos of her that will fit nicely here! The arrow was fun to make.

I think this LO is kind of weird, but I tried out some different techniques so thought I'd share it. I painted the days of the week chipboard with Distress crackle paint from Ranger, then sprayed them with Glimmer Mist. If you haven't tried the crackle paint yet, I recommend you give it a try, a fun technique! I also have a thing for ribbon, so I managed to soften the look on these pages by adding some pretty blue ribbon, either knotted (on the left) or looped and pinned with brads (on the right). Chalk this one up to 'let's try a bunch of tecniques on one page and see how it turns out!'

This is also a different look, but again, used a few techniques - Prima mask, sprayed with Glimmer Mist, then doodling with a white gel pen and bejeweled. I love the Close to My Heart chipboard circles, also sprayed with Glimmer Mist then adorned with paper flowers (did I mention they are sprayed with Glimmer Mist too?!!!).

I really love how these pages turned out - the colour scheme, products, everything. The first (left) page was inspired by Leica Forrest's "Best Buds" - thank you, Leica! Now just need to finish this LO off by adding some special pictures and a title.

          That’s probably enough for tonight. I need to get to work on creating some more things. Have I told you today just how much I love scrapbooking? 🙂 While I’ve been writing this blog, I’m also being entertained by Sydney doing her ‘workout’!

 

One Response to “Day 2 – and a bit of progress!”

  1. Bonnie Says:

    Incredible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

