In'scrap'tuation!

~ My scrapbooking creations are the legacy I will leave for my children. ~

A relaxing weekend ahead! June 11, 2011

Filed under: 12 x 12 layouts,June 2011 — amberscrappin @ 6:47 pm

What a glorious weekend!
I have been planning all week to get my household chores done as early as possible so I would leave time for myself to scrapbook. Usually I veg on Friday nights and sleep in on Saturday if the kids don’t have anything on the go. Today, I joined Weight Watchers, so I was up and at it bright and early for the meeting at 9:45, then I got the grocery shopping done. I hate buying groceries … so it felt great to get that job out of the way!
I don’t have a specific craft project on the go, but I need to decide on one (I am the kind of person who needs to have a goal if I am to achieve anything). In the meantime, I do a page here and there. Yesterday, I received THREE orders of scrapbooking stuff I’d ordered online. Can you say shopping addiction?!!! I was anxious to dig in. So I found a pagemap that I liked and got to work. I’d never used a pagemap before (this can also be called a sketch), but it’s just what it sounds like – a map to give you ideas on how to lay out your page. You can use whatever paper, embellishments, etc. you want. The results are different from person to person, of course, because we all interpret a little differently!
Check out the pagemap on Scrapbook& Cards Today’s blog. Then see my version below, which features products from the BasicGrey Olivia collection:

I like how it turned out. And it was fun to do a page for Shelby. It’s hard to believe how much she has changed and grown up in just a few months. These pictures were taken in October. She had just started army cadets and was really enjoying it. Without any training at all, she ran her first-ever biathlon! As you can see, she started out very chipper. By the end of the race, she was crying because she was so exhausted. But regardless, she did quite well. As the months passed, Shelby’s enthusiasm for cadets waned and she started hanging out with some kids who haven’t been a good influence. So we’ve been having some challenges. Nothing, I’m sure, that all other parents of now-grown children didn’t also experience! But part of the fun of scrapbooking is reliving the good memories, because those are the ones that are usually captured in pictures. So this page was a chance to capture my big girl at a great time in her life.
Okay, speaking of that girl, I need to go pick her up. And then we are going to barbecue burgers before I get back to my scrapbooking! Sydney has a friend over and they’ve gone swimming, and Gerry headed out to the race track tonight. I actually have a few flowers that have to be planted before the sun sets. If they don’t get into containers soon, they are goners!
Who knows, maybe I will be back with another post tonight if the creativity flows!

 

One Response to “A relaxing weekend ahead!”

  1. Gerry Says:

    I can’t get enough of your scrapbooking on a daily basis, Amber, so I am thrilled that you are now blogging about it. This way, I won’t miss a thing!

    – Gerry


Leave a Reply

