In'scrap'tuation!

~ My scrapbooking creations are the legacy I will leave for my children. ~

Summer scrap storm July 7, 2011

Filed under: 12 x 12 layouts,July 2011 — amberscrappin @ 6:34 pm

Happy Thursday!

I have been continuing to scrap up a storm over the last day and a half. I’m scrapping our summer vacation to Drumheller … from 2008. What a weird time to do this! But I had some really cute photos of the girls that I wanted to work with, and given the weather outside, I can think of nothing but summer!!! Check out the three layouts I did.

I absolutely LOVE the way the pages of the girls posing as a preacher turned out! I have been pushing myself outside of my usual box and using products that I haven’t tried before. My new favourite brand is Maya Road … that’s the brand of the Kraft tickets that I used on the bottom LO. And I don’t use special-shaped paper very often, but on these LO’s, I used two circles (one scalloped), a scalloped square, a ripped-out notebook page, and a postage stamp. I like mixing stuff up a little for a change! Another of my current favourite products is scrapper’s spools from Karen Foster Design, especially the natural colour. I used it at the bottom of the Little Church page, swirled up on the two bottom corners, and also tied it around the August coaster board. And flags, aren’t they so much fun? I even sewed the string to hang the flag on. Even if it is for scrapbooking, I HATE SEWING! But I like how it looks, so I will use this technique occasionally. A little while ago, I just HAD to have some ‘film ribbon’ from Tim Holtz. It is awesome stuff. But I could never find the right place to use it … until the preacher page of Sydney. This ‘ribbon’ forms the ‘leaves’ of the flower in the top left corner. I LOVE IT!!!!! And the last new thing I will point out are the two coloured pins I used on the top corner of Shelby’s preacher page. Kinda cool. Oh, and I can’t help but say something about all of the ribbon I used … a standard product for me. The more I can use on a page, the better!!!

We are heading out for supper soon and then I think I will spend a little more time scrapping and finish the Drumheller trip. You know, the funny thing about that trip is that is was ONLY to Drumheller – a small prairie town in the heart of the Badlands. But it was a lot of fun – that is a town that does dinosaurs well! Happy memories from that trip – I guess that is why I want to work on it!

So remember we were taking Sydney to see Mr. Popper’s Penguins last night? Yah, not. There is only one showing a day, at 12:40 p.m. So we might try another day. We saw Cars 2 instead, in 3D. Cute movie. I got a great pic of Gerry and Sydney wearing their oh-so-cool 3D glasses :-). I will try to remember to post it … ’cause I know how much Gerry loves me posting his picture!!!

This is our second-last day of vacation. It is going by too quickly, but that is what happens. I woke up to a text from Shelby today, who is staying at her friend Sammie’s grandma’s farm (with Sammie), supposedly for a few weeks. Shelby’s text message advised that she is bored and ready to come home. I told her that kids nowadays don’t know how to entertain themselves without all kinds of gadgets … it’s true! Anyway, she said maybe I could come get her this weekend. And I said, maybe not. Next weekend. That sounds like a much better idea to me. And that seemed to pacify her, at least for now!

Okay, better sign off now and go for a bite to eat. Who wants to cook on holidays? Not me. I don’t like to cook when I’m NOT on holidays either :-). I hear there are storm warnings out … so we will be watching the sky carefully. I wouldn’t mind a good summer storm, as long as no one gets hurt.

 

Leave a Reply

